A Measure I Must Take

A hunger strike to many, is the ultimate stupidity. Because of the hunger strike, I have not really had time to feel like typing, and it felt pretty shit. However, let me weigh up my personal beliefs on the subject.

Basically I currently live in a Yooralla group home, although my personal freedoms should be of my own choosing. I do not wish to stay here, because of the lack of my control and choice; I have no agency here.

I ask that you will acknowledge the hard work I put in for achieving academic excellence while I lived on my own with Friedreich’s Ataxia. My desire to maintain some form of independence was spurred on by something I read in the early 1980s, stating that for those with Friedreich’s Ataxia, mental retardation will set in with a lack of independence; this is something that sent chills down my spine. Whilst the term ‘mental retardation’ is out of date, today unfortunately, I can be a part of and view such things happening to me, from a pragmatic point of view. So, this is a measure I must take.

Yesterday I started my hunger strike. This is my choice, and I will continue to stand firm, until something changes. I am currently in a lot of pain, but I believe it will be beneficial for the future, particularly for those with high support needs.

Special thanks to Christina Irugalbandara, my brilliant academic support worker.

Author: petergibilisco

Researcher, author and advocate. Bachelor of Business Accounting, PhD from Melbourne University. Dealing with issues involving disability.

Leave a Reply

