An Inspirational Thought

This was sent to me by a friend.

Let me just say this – hopefully not embarrassing my long term friend and former student and also to make a particular commendation of Peter to Yooralla – Peter doesn’t have the ready facility of speaking out to correct himself or just as important to correct the misunderstandings of others. And in that he has often indulged me I believe. For that I’m thankful.

Peter’s economy of words have to be “at the max” – this is what I perceived from him very early on in my contact with me as a student who got the sociology-bug. It has not left him. 

What I also have learned from Peter G is the importance of reading his “written stuff” slowly and carefully to get his “gist” (or to quote the crazy lawyer in “The Castle”, the (Gibber) “vibe”) … English grammar may not be his most prominent forté BUT he has been cogitating on the following, and other matters too, for as long as I have known him:

  1. the social dimensions of his physiological condition and that he shares with others of like disability;
  2. the management of complex organisations;
  3. holistic management of disability; (mixing 1 & 2)
  4. confrontation with the social power of stereotypes.

I would also say that he has also developed an understanding of social research methodology by, what is called in the sociological profession “participant observation”. In that sense his insight into the constraints of “the situation” should not ever be under-estimated. He is most certainly not a self-centered person. The fact that his body seems to shout at him to be just in it for himself seems to me from my decades of association with him to be integral to his frustration. But I can also say that after having faced different difficult situation Peter has an instinct to “bounce” back. (My view anyway).

A student doesn’t get a PhD in sociology without a deepened understanding of the theory and practice of organisations. So Peter’s OnLineOpinion pieces are very worthwhile reading, and I would recommend doing so SLOWLY, one at a time, keeping in mind his “authorial” context on “both sides” of the management of disability… 

Thank you very much for these kind words.

Author: petergibilisco

Researcher, author and advocate. Bachelor of Business Accounting, PhD from Melbourne University. Dealing with issues involving disability.

Leave a Reply

